Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » Trollish Delver Games » In Darkest Warrens » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
In Darkest Warrens Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 8
0 0
0 0
0 0
1 0
In Darkest Warrens
Click to view
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Sébastien G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2018 09:50:28

Perfect game in a minimalist form of OSR gaming. Use only one 6 sided die give to the rules a smooth taste. I think it opened to campaign gaming. In my opinion, In Darkest Warrens taster better than Black Hack or Maze Rats and it's very thin with many possibilities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Heather S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 19:01:50
So I picked up Scott Malthouse's “Darkest Warrens” kind of on a whim. I'm not going to lie, I liked the cover. I really like the “old school” look. I've never really looked into the “minimalist” games mostly because I didn't think they would be any fun. I was wrong. My sons and I played this today, character creation to adventure to done in an hour and a half. And we had a blast, six sided dice, army men and cowboy figures all over the table. So here is my review of this nifty little gem.

In Darkest Warrens is a whole three pages, including character sheet, five if the cover is printed: so it's not going to break the bank printing it out. Character generation is two entries totaling six paragraphs; assign attributes and choose a class. There are four attributes: Brawn, Nimble, Mind and Person. The player gets four numbers to assign: 5+, 4+, 4+ and 3+. Lower numbers are better, (we had to get used to that), because tests are a roll-over mechanic. For instance, if you want to notice something it is a Mind check, roll a d6 +/- modifiers and roll over the stat, so the 5+ stat will actually be the worst. Combat is just as simple, each player tests Nimble, successes act before the enemy, failures after. There are two actions; move and attack/other (draw weapon, cast spell, use item). Attacks are made by testing Brawn (melee) or Nimble (ranged) and each successful attack does one wound of damage. There are five classes in the main game, (others in the third supplement) Warrior, Rogue, Mage, Ranger and Barbarian. Each class has a certain number of wounds (hp) and each has one class ability. The Warrior for instance, can (once per combat), make a number of extra attacks equal to half class level rounded up. Spells are simple and quick. The Mage has three spells; Hold, Heal and Hex. Spells are cast by rolling a successful Mind Check and each spell can be cast once per combat. Characters can advance to sixth level each level with each level giving an additional hit. Treasure is randomly determined on a d6 table and there is a small bestiary listing creatures like Bugbears, Goblins and Iron Golems. Page two offers an item list for things like armor (+2 wounds) when worn and weapons (all weapons do one wound of damage). There are some advanced options for combat, like parry and two weapon fighting and a list of status effects. The main rule book also includes an introductory adventure, “The Cow of Boburn.” That's the game in a nutshell, two pages of fun. The great thing about this game is one can do pretty much anything to it and it won't break; you want to go higher than sixth level? Go ahead, you might have to use dice other than a six sider but that's easy enough. More monsters? Go ahead, extrapolate them from other games, we all do that anyway. This game is rare in the minimalist realm in that it hits that syzygy of playability, engagement and fun and does it well. This baby can be put in the old game bag and kept for those times when a gaming chance just happens to present itself. Also, it's my opinion that this game presents solid solo playability for those times when no one else wants to game, ( I hate that). Honestly I paid less than three bucks for all three books, there is no down-side to that. Give this game a shot, there won't be any regrets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Ralph G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2016 10:21:39

Nice layout, and would be great for beginners. A little scant on monsters and spells, to really get ther most out of the game you almost have to get the suppliments too. I'm thinking of using these rules for a free makeshift version of Hero Quest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Ulrich H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2016 08:02:15

This System is magnificient in its simplicity. You can just sit down with your players and start adventuring within 5 minutes. This is all a roleplaying game needs, excellent for rare or irregular game sessions.

You can take any adventure from any fantasy RPG system and convert it to Darkest Warrens on-the-fly.

The only thing that I suggest is that you reverse the player/monster stats from lowest being best (5+, 4+, 4+ 3+ (with 3+ being best; success if you roll 3 or higher on 1d6)) to highest being best (2-, 3-, 3- 4- (with 4- being best, have to roll less or equal than 4 for success)). This way you create infinite space for character advancement, stronger adversaries, and additions as you see fit - IF you want to add your own level of complexity!

Darkest Warrens - highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Jeffrey S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2016 10:14:27

My friends and I tried this out last night. It was my first time DMing and a few others' first venture into the Tabletop RPG scene. We had a blast and I think the simplicity of the system really helped us get more comfortable with this type of game! I highly recommend it if you're looking for a quick set-up, quirky little RPG that you can add a lot of your own character to.

Trollish Delver Games- You deserve more than I paid for this. I promise to pay more for the next installment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Gergely P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2016 15:19:09

TL;DR: Simply awesome. I have never seen a system this free before. Character creation is a matter of seconds, combat system is easy to learn, easy to master. No need to learn complex systems for damage dealing. Even mages are easy to handle (although I think they are incredibly nerfed). Even if you are a hardcore player of another system, this definitely worths a try. As there is no world associated with this system, you can freely use your imagination (OK, that may be a con, if you are a beginner). Just go, create, and play within the hour.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Mike K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2016 13:27:32

This is an easy to learn role playing game. All you need are six sided dice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Stuart L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2016 04:28:33

I love minimalist role playing systems anyway, but this one is well thought out and versatile despite only covering 1.5 A4 pages. Scott seems very aware of the aspects of RPGs that introduce complexity as he has simplified many aspects of them.

Stats: There are 4 stats - brawn, nimble, mind, person. Players allocate the numbers 5+,4+,4+ and 3+ to them. Testing stats involves rolling d6 and meeting or exceeding the number. From my understanding, this means that the lowest number is better as it is more likely to roll 3+ than 5+.

Classes: There are 5 classes, but only one of them uses magic (magic using classes are always the most complicated ones). They are warrior, rogue, ranger, barbarian, mage. There are 3 spells - hex, heal and hold. These spells improve as the mage increases in level. No messing about with massive spell lists and tons of stats. Your class determines your number of wounds (hit points) which are between 3 and 5.

Advancement: The maximum level of the character is 6. Gaining a level means +1 wound and an improvement to your special ability.

Combat: Combat is a case of rolling intiative (succeeding at nimble means you strike first. Failing means you strike after the monsters) and then testing your brawn (for melee) or nimble (for ranged). Success means you deal 1 wound of damage. Easy peasy.

There is very little adding and subtracting (+-2 at most) and you can create a party in about 5 minutes. There is also a short entertaining adventure concerning a stolen cow. This reveiwer loves any adventure that features farm animals.

This is not for the simulationist gamer, but anyone who wants a simple game system either because they want to do a one shot or because they would rather do more role playing than roll playing will love this. It is well worth it and I will be getting all products in this line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back