Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games



Home » Dan Coleman Productions » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2018 11:02:49

Thieves seem to get the unglamorous roles in D&D games: scouts, lock pickers and trap detectors. Few scenairos seem to use their range of criminal skills. Some may remember the excellent Thieves' Guild materials by Kerry Lloyd and co-workers, which introduced modules suitable for Raffles style thefts, or carefully planned heists, Ebonclad follows in this tradition.

This review will concentrate on material directly related to adventures. There are a number of helpful tables to generate items of wealth to be pickpocketted, and residential items of value for robberies. The list of urban chase complications should enliven any foot race. Chaper 5, comprising 58 pages, contains seven missions. These are delightfully varied: some investigations with a final combat; a burglary to find an item; manipulating events to discredit an invention, or prevent a marriage. The last group are particularly enjoyable, as the PCs get a chance to dream up schemes. Outright brutality may draw unwelcome attention from the Kintallan Guard. Charm and Illusion magic will be an asset. The missions are fairly short, with plenty of guidance. There are helpful sidebar summaries with bullet points; in contrast, the PCs' Ebonclad boss tends to drone on for several paragraphs.

A solid collection of scenairos, with a couple very good. I would be interested in what the author could make of a longer, more involved adventure such as manipulating an election to high office, or a gang war. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Breaking Hearts - A Valentine's Day Adventure (Level 3 - 5 PCs)
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2018 07:48:27

We had a great time playing this last night (Valentine’s Day). The players enjoyed the new creatures (I changed the kulpids a little, giving them diapers). 5 out of 5 stars. Will play again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaking Hearts - A Valentine's Day Adventure (Level 3 - 5 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
by Tal A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 12:19:16

Ran this on New Year's Eve for four level one players: halfling bard, tiefling warlock, dwarf paladin, and elf rogue (the last was playing her first-even game of D&D). We had a great time; this is a really well-crafted adventure with a great story and a really thoughful, engaging level-one dungeon. I tweaked the backstory slightly (Creed was a relative of the dwarf paladin sharing his secrets on his deathbed, while the elf rogue was the niece of another NPC from the backstory). Total playing time was right around three hours which included a thorough exploration but not the more difficult optional combat encounter. This is the second adventure from this author that I've had the pleasure of running, and I can't recommend his work strongly enough. Excellent, user-friendly design and great stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Bad Apples (Level 3 PCs)
by Tal A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 11:06:31

Running this now with my group; didn't quite finish in one session so we will continue next time. But it's already clear that this is a wonderful module with very evocative atmosphere, a clever story, interesting encounters, and great production value. Really user-friendly format, characteristic of the majority of Mr. Coleman's work that I've seen. This is a pleasure to run. The challenge level seemed appropriate for 5 level 3 PCs (half-elf battlemaster fighter, human cleric, gnome forest druid, halfling beast master revised ranger, and tiefling arcane trickster rogue). The fights were not exactly easy, but at no time was the party ever in danger of actually losing; DMs may want to beef up some of the foes if deadlier encounters are desired, but this was fine for my group. Some elements of the story were changed slightly by the abilities of the druid and ranger to communicate with and/or befriend animals in the orchard, but it only added to the adventure. Fit very nicely as a drop-in to our ongoing campaign. Strongly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bad Apples (Level 3 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
by Jack W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2017 04:32:20

Ran this for two brand-new players last weekend, and they totally loved it. They're hooked and can't wait for the next session!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 12:54:21

A Thieves Guild campaign setting...something I know a LOT of people have been hoping to find. It is VERY well thought out. It includes tables for random pickpocket gains based on the social status of the victem. It contains interactions between different levels of the guild, interactions between these different levels and the authorities, and how the populace reacts to them. Things are not as cut as dry as "steeling is bad, everyone reports it".

It is NOT just about the rouge class, either, it includes the ability to be any class and still be in the guild, though it is obviously hard for some (you over there, in the shining armor, with a beam of light falling gently on you, teeth gleaming with the broad, easy smile and your god's name always poised on your lips...the Paladin, I am looking at you here) it still means it is not just a rogue only setting.

Notable NPCs are here, city layout, and much more. It really is an immersive and complete setting for the DM and Players to weave a memorable store around and throughout. I highly recommend it, another great product from Dan Coleman.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
by Drew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 16:15:31

Dan's work in Gallery of Thieves is like his work in all of his other projects: top notch. Tyr'Aiglos was a character idea that I had buzzing around my head for some time but never got to fleshing out since I generally am the one DM'ing. I trusted Dan to really flesh out and give Tyr'Aiglos a life of his own, and Dan delivered. I could not be happier with how it turned out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Drew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 16:09:28

Ebonclad is a rich and fulfilled setting for D&D 5E. Whether you are looking for more options for your players, fleshing out of chase and heist rules or a beautiful setting with a fantastic thieves guild built into the fabric, then Ebonclad is the product for you. Dan puts out nothing that is not high quality content that is well balanced and excellently written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2017 20:05:24

While I am admittedly possibly a little biased, as one of the characters currently in this supplement is based on my idea, I think that this is a great addition to an already great supplement to the on-going tabletop gaming community. One thing that I think really helps Ebonclad as a whole is that while Dan is the creator of the world at large he has made a point of working to get others to help him expand it, and that not only makes it feel more inclusive and inviting, but it also, in my opinion, makes for a better world as I will be the first to admit that sometimes it takes collaboration to find the best ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2017 22:41:59

This is a fabulous book, professional art where you want it, great and cohesive world/guild components. If you have any interest in having a great thieves guild in your world (or literally running the in-game city), this will provide most, if not all, of the people, guild rules, and other fun stuff for you to riff on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

An Axe to Grind (Level 3 PCs)
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 15:42:06

Enjoyable for the DM and players alike. Easy to follow, yet very good level of detail enabled playing the NPCs etc very natural. Interesting storyline. Reasonable level of difficulty. Appropriate treasure and magical items.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Axe to Grind (Level 3 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
by Ariel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2017 16:52:07

I ran this today for players and it was fantastic. An excellently-written adventure, with a clean and neat layout that's easy on the eyes, and I appreciate any adventure that actually includes maps for VTT (I play on Roll20). I highly recommend this PWYW product for anyone looking to check out Mr. Coleman's adventures (of which I own all), as it's truly a testament to the quality of all his work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Dungeons on Demand: Volume Three
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2017 01:26:41

These dungeons are written in such a way that minimal tweaking is needed to shift from the written suggestions to adventures that seem taillor-made for my custom campaign. Better, they are easy to scale with level in case the party decides to go somewhere else first. There is also quite a bit of variety between the different dungeons, both in exploration/combat/roleplay as well as in theme and style.

I found the whole DoD set to be very helpful to my gamemastering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons on Demand: Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2017 08:39:53

Ebonclad offers a delightful new setting and ideas for creating a campaign filled with intrigue, thievery, bribery, assassination, and conspiracies. It's a must have for anyone who is a fan of rogues and clandestine missions. I'm very eager to fold the City of Kintalla and the Ebonclad Guild into my next campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by kevin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2017 15:36:08

A great product that can be used on its own or as a supplement for your own campaign or setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 92 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG