Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games



Home » Dan Coleman Productions » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 12:54:21

A Thieves Guild campaign setting...something I know a LOT of people have been hoping to find. It is VERY well thought out. It includes tables for random pickpocket gains based on the social status of the victem. It contains interactions between different levels of the guild, interactions between these different levels and the authorities, and how the populace reacts to them. Things are not as cut as dry as "steeling is bad, everyone reports it".

It is NOT just about the rouge class, either, it includes the ability to be any class and still be in the guild, though it is obviously hard for some (you over there, in the shining armor, with a beam of light falling gently on you, teeth gleaming with the broad, easy smile and your god's name always poised on your lips...the Paladin, I am looking at you here) it still means it is not just a rogue only setting.

Notable NPCs are here, city layout, and much more. It really is an immersive and complete setting for the DM and Players to weave a memorable store around and throughout. I highly recommend it, another great product from Dan Coleman.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
by Drew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 16:15:31

Dan's work in Gallery of Thieves is like his work in all of his other projects: top notch. Tyr'Aiglos was a character idea that I had buzzing around my head for some time but never got to fleshing out since I generally am the one DM'ing. I trusted Dan to really flesh out and give Tyr'Aiglos a life of his own, and Dan delivered. I could not be happier with how it turned out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Drew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 16:09:28

Ebonclad is a rich and fulfilled setting for D&D 5E. Whether you are looking for more options for your players, fleshing out of chase and heist rules or a beautiful setting with a fantastic thieves guild built into the fabric, then Ebonclad is the product for you. Dan puts out nothing that is not high quality content that is well balanced and excellently written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2017 20:05:24

While I am admittedly possibly a little biased, as one of the characters currently in this supplement is based on my idea, I think that this is a great addition to an already great supplement to the on-going tabletop gaming community. One thing that I think really helps Ebonclad as a whole is that while Dan is the creator of the world at large he has made a point of working to get others to help him expand it, and that not only makes it feel more inclusive and inviting, but it also, in my opinion, makes for a better world as I will be the first to admit that sometimes it takes collaboration to find the best ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2017 22:41:59

This is a fabulous book, professional art where you want it, great and cohesive world/guild components. If you have any interest in having a great thieves guild in your world (or literally running the in-game city), this will provide most, if not all, of the people, guild rules, and other fun stuff for you to riff on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

An Axe to Grind (Level 3 PCs)
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 15:42:06

Enjoyable for the DM and players alike. Easy to follow, yet very good level of detail enabled playing the NPCs etc very natural. Interesting storyline. Reasonable level of difficulty. Appropriate treasure and magical items.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Axe to Grind (Level 3 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
by Ariel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2017 16:52:07

I ran this today for players and it was fantastic. An excellently-written adventure, with a clean and neat layout that's easy on the eyes, and I appreciate any adventure that actually includes maps for VTT (I play on Roll20). I highly recommend this PWYW product for anyone looking to check out Mr. Coleman's adventures (of which I own all), as it's truly a testament to the quality of all his work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Dungeons on Demand: Volume Three
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2017 01:26:41

These dungeons are written in such a way that minimal tweaking is needed to shift from the written suggestions to adventures that seem taillor-made for my custom campaign. Better, they are easy to scale with level in case the party decides to go somewhere else first. There is also quite a bit of variety between the different dungeons, both in exploration/combat/roleplay as well as in theme and style.

I found the whole DoD set to be very helpful to my gamemastering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons on Demand: Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2017 08:39:53

Ebonclad offers a delightful new setting and ideas for creating a campaign filled with intrigue, thievery, bribery, assassination, and conspiracies. It's a must have for anyone who is a fan of rogues and clandestine missions. I'm very eager to fold the City of Kintalla and the Ebonclad Guild into my next campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by kevin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2017 15:36:08

A great product that can be used on its own or as a supplement for your own campaign or setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Time & Time Again (Level 19 PCs)
by Eric H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2017 12:23:27

The layout was very good for helping me as the DM to prepare for this adventure. The maps have notated plot and interest points on them and the story is unique which in my opinion also helped keep the party on the story line rather than skipping 80% of an adventure with creative use of spells. You will definately want to record the party's questions they have for their future selves and ask it back to them when the time comes. I would strongly recommend buffing every monster or at least the last encounter if your party is well geared or has more than 4 players. As-is this adventure should take about 4 hours depending on how efficient your party is at dispatching foes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Time & Time Again (Level 19 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2017 11:48:40

Still reading through it, so I may update this review.

A great supplement for any 5e Game especially if you like rogue-like settings

As said in the description, this setting isn't just for Rogues. A crime filled city is a great setting for any party to explore. All the details to the history, heirarchy and guilds really fleshes out the setting and feel of this city. I'm going to break it down by chapters I've read and my thoughts on them:

Chapter 1: Kintalla, The Silver City Dan does a great job of creating a city with rich history. He also fleshes out the numerous guilds and organizations and how they operate in the city. There's plenty to use here, including random NPC encounters that could lead to a whole new quest line. As well as suggested buildings that your party can visit. It feels like a well written novel.

Chapter 2: Guild Ebonclad This is where this supplement shines. You could even just use this chapter and throw the guild into any city already in your campaign. The hierarchy is extensive and provides options to keep a campaign running for years as your party climbs the rungs of Ebonclad. As well as Cost of Services for all guild actions, really allowing you to create your own "jobs" for your party to complete. The Prominent Members and other notable guild NPCs are as always fleshed out masterpieces of Dan Coleman. They are interesting and unique characters that your party will surely remember. The Life as a Member provide great opportunites for roleplaying, I can't wait to try and speak Eboncant (a variation on Thieve's Cant) with my players. He's really created a magical guild that runs a city, and fleshes out roles for each different class in Ebonclad.

Chapter 3: A Life of Crime This section has great tables and options for how NPCs will react to crimes, creating random NPCs (what kind of wealth, who they're associated with, etc.), as well as the type of loot you can find on NPCs and how to acquire it (cutting purses, pickpocketing, etc.), where and how the guard might bump into your party and last but not least, NEW URBAN CHASE COMPLICATIONS. This is a great section to add to any urban city if you have party members who love to drum up crime in a busy city.

Chapter 4: Setting Options New Class Options, Backgrounds and suggestions for how Classes will behave in the Guild. Great section for creating new characters who grew up in Kintalla or the city with Ebonclad. The new spells looks like a lot of fun for any member of the guild. But the new Equipment, Weapons and Potions is where this section shines for me. Great new gear to get around an urban environment without being too loud or noisey. Wrist Daggers? Yes please!

Chapter 5: Missions Here, Dan outlines some sample missons for a party of level 1-5 as well as giving rules to create your own. They are so easily adjusted to higher levels though, so it wouldn't be a problem if you wanted to play at a higher level. Almost all of the missons are very open-ended, great for a DM that likes to improvise and a party that likes to make their own path. Using the other chapters you can really personalize these missions and allow your party to run rampant around the city. Or, just follow them to the letter and still have a blast. My favorite so far is Wedding Bells in which the party is tasked with stopping a noble wedding without harming the betrothed...

Appendices Dan put all the tables, maps and NPCs in a handy set of Appendices in the back. I haven't read through them all though.

Bonus! Short Stories Inbetween every few chapters are short stories (one page long) that really add to the flavor of this supplement. They really set the scene and theme for Kintalla and Ebonclad. Also, great suggestions for possible missions and NPCs. I loved every single one.

So, Should I get it? Do you like urban city settings with slums and a love for crime? Does your party like to commit crimes and try to get away with them? Have you read Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows Duology and thought, I'd love to play a D&D game in a similar setting? Do you love Dan Coleman's work on Dungeons on Demand?Then Yes!

If you're looking for a fully fleshed out module, or something that doesn't require a DM to think on their feet and improvise on the spot? Maybe not. This is a great supplement for creating a new campaign that can last a long time. If this type of setting doesn't interest you, look elsewhere.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Erwin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2017 04:18:48

This is a brand new product from the mind of the same guys as Dungeons on Demand and it's top notch. It's a complete campaign setting set in the city of Kintalla with adventures, new backgrounds, new subclasses, feats, equipment and spells. If you're looking for some kind of roguish adventure (mind you this is not just for rogues) give this title a try and if you're uncertain about the quality look up the recent Kickstarter Campaign through which this is funded for more details https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/dancoleman/ebonclad-a-5e-dnd-thieves-guild-setting-7-new-adve/description .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Out for Blood (Level 15 PCs)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 10:51:13

This is a mystery adventure. Players seem to have enjoyed the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Out for Blood (Level 15 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Dungeons on Demand: Volume One
by Kyle H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:50:46

I just purchased this set and haven't yet had a chance to integrate it. However, the materials are professionally produced, well thought out, and well organized. I bought these after trying one of the "pay what you want" adventures by Dan Coleman Productions. I really liked it and decided it was worth puchasing some more. They are really nicely used as plug-in adventures when things are a little too busy to prep a full adventure or dungeon one week. I will definitely keep my eye on some of the other volumes of these adventures to add to my campaign as I need them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons on Demand: Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG