Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games



Home » Just Insert Imagination » Reviews
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Aliens vs Rednecks
by Matt S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 18:50:41

Aliens vs Rednecks is Just Insert Imagination's newest entry in what they're calling a "plug & play adventure". This latest adventure is their 5th in this line of PnP adventure series. The other PnP adventures from JII are Fuhgeddaboudit!, Size Matters, Badabing Badaboom!, and White Noise (which will be reviewed later). Coming soon to this line of adventures will be Ashen Thorns, a "spooky and creepy, perfect for a dark night with the wind howling outside." PnP adventure.

I've been resisting the urge to read this adventure in the hopes that I would get to play in it beforehand. Oh well, at least I can say I tried. The basic synopsis of this adventure written by Eric Lamoureux and Harrison Hunt, is that the Klarrgian aliens are in danger of being extinct and they need to abduct a human female named Jenny. She is believed to be the only gene carrier that can save the planet Klarrg from a plague. This beauty pageant queen is somewhere in the town of Jefferson and the aliens can't leave without her.

This adventure introduces a couple of new setting rules, Hold mah beer! and The Xeno Shroud. Basically, they’re rules for in game drinking and allowing the aliens to walk around amongst the humans unnoticed by the townsfolk. If you haven't already figured it out yet, the players will be playing the roles of the inept aliens attempting to abduct Jenny. In this PnP there are a total of 9 scenes/plot twists with my favorite being Just Ridiculous. Another identical race of aliens unknown as Qlarrgians are after Jenny for the exact same reason as the Klarrgians.

AvR is a 20 page PDF which includes a cover page, 3 pages of adventure with NPC’s, a town map, 2 pages of basic figure flats, 5 pre-generated character sheets, a blank character sheet, 5 pre-generated table tents, a blank table tent, and a one page advertisement of JII products.

Overall, I’m really digging this adventure. I mean, who doesn’t want to be an awkward bungling alien searching for (in the voice of Forrest Gump) Jen-ay in the backwoods town of Jefferson. Some of the things I like about this game are the Alienudes, an alien inspired version of interludes and the Klarrgian slang included (which are also on the table tents for easy player access). As usual, the artwork is fantastic and I only have one gripe. That is the page layout on pages 2-4. They tried to make those pages look like an open book laid flat so you can see the crease in the middle of the page. To me it looks like everything is slightly squished on those pages. This gripe is not a major thing at all. It is merely a personal preference on my part.

Depending on the players at your table, this game will be a hillarious, gut ripping, and flatulence inducing alien adventure to remeber for a long time. I’m giving this one 4 out of 5 Jalizaran Moons.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens vs Rednecks
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

The Mutation Deck (tuck box)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2017 10:48:19

This deck is gorgeous, and full of cool abilities. Most of them are both a blessing and a curse, so they really feel like "mutations" rather than super powers. Great work, guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutation Deck (tuck box)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

The Mutation Deck (tuck box)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 09:37:55

The deck is a lot of fun when you're in the market for a quick, random Savage Mutant. It's great for supporting any post-apocalyptic homebrews (like Fallout, Gamma World, Thundarr, etc), even if just for the deck's theme, with or without the mutations.

I really like the look of the new tuck box; it helps carry the theme of the whole deck. Be careful on the first opening, though... 54 cards in a 52-card box means they're packed tightly (but fit comfortably after a couple uses and the box has a chance to breathe). The paper used for the box is really thick, though, so no worries about ripping.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Eternal Adventure Guide: 8 Cities
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 00:31:50

A great supplement to the core setting book (and complement to the Wastelands guide) that adds all kinds of "day in the life of a city adventurer" trappings to the primary cities. The city-specific rules are a fun addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Eternal Adventure Guide: 8 Cities
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Size Matters
by RunklePlaysGames S. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2016 08:35:19

"Overall my thoughts on Size Maters is this is a solid purchase! There are enough ideas here that you could have this adventure take place in several different locations and all of them would prove fun and virtually all the critters listed here could still be used most any setting you might think of." From my blog review at Runkle Plays Game.

I did a mini review of my blog of this project. It hits the mark and knocks it out of the park with a "Honey I shrunk the kids" idea of a one shot game session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Size Matters
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Mutants & Tassels: Yellow Jade Pagoda
by Gary M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 12:35:16

Another amazing product by Just Insert Imagination. This quick one shot type adventure has a great "stranger things" meets "mad max' feel to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Tassels: Yellow Jade Pagoda
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

The Mutation Deck (plastic case)
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2016 19:02:01

Wish there was an option to add on a tuck box. One that was nicer than my printer could do...I did print and make my own with the PDF and my printer to check it out. I am Glad I got the hard plastic case since there was no option to buy a tuck box. The plasitic case is actually nice, not some cheap thing.

As far as the cards...they are worth giving a 5 Star review. They are awesome. Easy to read suit, have fun and new options on them and the printed cards from DTRPG are good quality. These are now my new main deck.

Glad I bought. Will use them in my Savage Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutation Deck (plastic case)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Daniel Thanks for the kind words. :) We wanted to add the tuck box as a print option, but at the moment that is only an option for high-volume orders of around 100 decks or more. We were thinking of a separate poster print option, but not sure about the paper stock. If another option comes by, we will definitely let you know! Thanks for having a look at our cards and taking the time to write a review.
The Mutation Deck (plastic case)
by Gary M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 12:35:13

Full disclosure... I love this companies products. That said... Holy Amazeballs is this deck incredible. I was just expecting a cool looking deck of cards with large suits for easy display at the game table or for use in an apocalyptic or mutation setting. This deck not only looks great but comes packed with some seriously cool mutations. There's instructions included in the pdf for randomly choosing mutations and a very cool idea for what happens when you draw jokers. So incredibly pleased with this deck. I've ordered cast of cards from drive thru and they are great quality so I have no worries about ordering this deck printed by drive thru. Great job Just Insert Imagination! I can't wait to use these!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 07:26:02

Just Insert Imagination first entered the Savage Worlds scene with their post apocalyptic Winter Eternal setting, which I backed on Indiegogo, But since then they've been expanding their portfolio with a range of other products, one of which is a mob and road movie sandbox adventure called "Fuhgeddaboudit!", by Eric Lamoureux and Morné Schaap.

However Fuhgeddaboudit! is much more than just an adventure, it's really a mini setting in its own right, and as this is a subject I'm particularly interested in, I decided to take a look at how they've organized their product.

The actual adventure is four pages long, around twice the size of a One Sheet, and includes an introduction, the setting rules, background information, adventure scenes (including a custom Interlude table) and PC secrets, as well as some thematic extras (mobspeak slang, and ideas for jukebox background music), and statblocks for NPCs as well as vehicle stats. There's also a fifth page which lists the full stats for five pregenerated characters.

The download also includes character sheets for the pregenerated characters (and a blank character sheet for creating your own), cards containing character secrets that can be printed and handed out to the players, and three separate battle maps.

There are a few minor issues with the pregenerated characters (Jimmy's Parry doesn't factor in Acrobat, the characters have an additional Hindrance each and get points for it, Paulie isn't strong enough to use his melee weapon, and a couple of the characters haven't used all their advances), but this doesn't really matter for a one-shot adventure.

Overall it's a very cool product, particularly for PWYW, giving the GM everything they need to run a memorable one-shot adventure.

I think this "mini setting" concept could also be a very effective way to test the waters for other new settings, allowing publishers to gauge public interest before investing the time and effort into writing a full setting book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Winter Eternal Ice suit
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2016 19:50:54

I'm a huge fan of the Winter Eternal setting and its artwork. I look forward to the printed version for my gaming room wall!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Eternal Ice suit
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Fuhgeddaboudit!
by MATTHEW S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2016 11:24:41

If you like Mob movies then this is the game for you!

This game is great for new players, as it involves a lot of the basic rules and also has a chasee scene. The pregenerated characters are fully fleshed out which makes this great for a one shot or a con game. You can also use this as a mini campaign because there are enough scenes to have 2-3 three hour sessions.

Not convinced yet? Check out the youtube video. Disclaimer, this video is for mature audiences and has adult language.

I gave it 5 stars because of it's versatility, ease of use (little to no preperation time), and fun factor. Lets face it, everyone wants to talk like a Gumbah!

Fast! Furious! Fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Fuhgeddaboudit!
by RunklePlaysGames S. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2016 10:21:11

Another good product from a solid company. I wrote a mini review on my blog over at Runkle Plays Games. The concept of creating the layout by design to be used as inserts for a GM screen is in itself something I hope to see more of. It really takes the intent of a one shot product and fully embraces it! The Twists and idea's of what can or will happen to the players along the way are exelent. All and all a solid buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2016 18:38:19

Hard to argue the quality of this product...top shelf! And pay what you want makes this a must have for all the Savages out there!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2016 07:50:31

This one-shot adventure was an impulse buy because I like Savage Worlds and mobster stories. The price is set as 'Pay what you Want' and I contributed £1.00, unsure what to expect. I wish I had paid more as this adventire is GOLD. You could run this adventure with zero preparation and still have a BLAST, with so many additional elements that it could run for 1-2 sessions and maybe serve as a starting point for a longer camapign. If the studio were to produce a savage setting written with the same flair, I would buy it in a heartbeat. I cannot reccomend this adventure enough and you should definetely get it too! :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snap Sites: Silver Linings Bookstore
by RunklePlaysGames S. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2016 17:35:17

Another great Snap Site. The Props are wonderull. With Just Insert Imagination batting 1000% so far I look forward to more of their upcoming products! I have a full review of this on my blog RunklePlaysGames. The Form Fillable Book Cover idea alone makes this a a product that has one portion of it that you will find use for Long after you have played up the twists presented here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snap Sites: Silver Linings Bookstore
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG