Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » Roving Band of Misfits Press » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Two Page Mini Delve - Deepwood Memorial
by Antonio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2017 07:05:08

I'm mastering LMoP for 5-6 children on a monthly basis. I included this mini delve for a two days sessions with just my two children (a wizard elf and an halfling). The dungeon gives the DM many options for combat, explore, reward, abilities and the presence of traps help beginners to deal with such objects.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Deepwood Memorial
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Two Page Mini Delve - Deepwood Memorial
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 16:43:27

This mini-delve worked perfectly for our campaign. As DM, I included it as a side quest that the PCs unknowingly undertook for one of their nemeses. I added a few extra treasures and an Ochre Jelly in one of the general's crypts, but otherwise played it as written. The players enjoyed the details and had fun with the tour headbands, even carefully returning them to the rack after they cleared out the monsters. Well done. I will try to incoroprate a few more of these two page mini delves in our campaign. Perfect length for a 3 to 4 hour session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5 Questions
by Ben D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2017 09:59:12

I love this release. When I start running a new game, I hand each player a random page from the book. These are simple questions that help players fill in some of their character's backstory. Great for use with new players, or players that always make Mary Sues. There's usually a question that makes an assumption about the character, such as, "Why are they afraid of the dark?" Many players won't think to give themselves a weakness, so these questions give them a good reason to think about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5 Questions
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

5 Questions
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/17/2016 22:52:13

Although many companies over the years have attempted the systemless RPG supplement, few have succeeded. RPG players tend to want supplemental material that expands on all elements of the game, including the mechanics. Yet another fantasy world gazetteer tends to be pretty boring because without a clear understanding of how the characters (created and detailed by and through mechanics) will make their way through the world, it doesn't feel like something that can come alive at the table. You're better off reading even a third-rate fantasy novel, most of the time. In the past, companies often did this in order to dodge the litigious anger of T$R (remember that acronym joke? Come on, you know you loved it when you were fourteen in that AOL chat room). In today's more open world of open licensing, gamers have become more open to the concept of RPG supplements not tied to particular game material, but few products have really nailed it down. However, "5 Questions" accomplishes this in exemplary style, going far beyond the basics and relentlessly focusing on usability at the table in every aspect of its presentation.

"5 Questions" is, as advertised, 500 character creation questions, divided into 5 100-question categories, like "NPC Relationships" and "Character Secrets". What impresses me about 5 Questions is that it could just be a simple list, and if the questions were good, it would be worth it. But the format goes beyond that. It presents them as ready-to-print questionnaires, with one questionnaire containing one random question from each of the 5 categories. But that's not all! There are also "specialized" questionnaires. Say you're playing a game like Smallville/Cortex+ Drama, where NPC relationships are one of the key factors in the game. You can pull a questionnaire with just "NPC Relationship" questions. There are detailed instructions at the front of the document explaining different ways to use the questions to prompt character action and depth. And of course at the end of the document the whole list of questions is reproduced for the GM's reference.

What elevates "5 Questions" above the rest is its relentless focus on usability at the table, and a focus on something that every game needs - vivid, forward-moving player characters. Maybe skip "5 Questions" if you're the type of person who doesn't name their characters or if you're playing a game where you can just say "I'm a fighting man" and be done with it. But if you are playing a game where your characters are going to be anything more than that, "5 Questions" will knock your socks off. It's well worth the price and I'm giving it my highest rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - The Pale Reaver
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 12:43:43

I needed a short one-off from my main game while 2 out of 5 players were out for our usual session. This mini-delve was perfect! Made some slight modifications to fit it in with my story, but still kept it mostly as is. Fun, wildly creative, not your typical hack 'n' slash, and the PCs got to spend more time focusing on role-playing and working together out of combat. Really cool, creative backstory. Highly recommend the game, and the suggestion within the game to make the boat. The PCs freaked out with happiness and everyone had a great time - including this DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - The Pale Reaver
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Adventures in Bayhaven Ultimate [BUNDLE]
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2016 14:21:33

A fun collection of additional adventures for the Hero Kids world. Most add an optional element of "Time Units" that incur a penalty in the event that the adventure takes too long (whether side-tracked, a party KO, or other such cause). The collection includes additional enemy cards, item cards, and maps as well. Several have notes that allow the GM to improve replayability by tweaking certain aspects of the game, or adapting to the player's concerns—a definite plus.

The bundle could benefit from a suggested order-of-play, as some play better than others. My own personal take:

  1. Port on the Bay introduces the kids to Bayhaven so really plays best before the others.
  2. Errand, Ringmaster, Stolen Pendant, and the seasonal Fairy introduce a broader view of Bayhaven and don't have much inter-adventure reference.
  3. The text of Stolen Pendant suggests curiosity regarding goblins, so Goblin Lair might better follow after playing Pendant.
  4. Finally, Empty Nets, Heart of the Bay (Shrike #2), and Sunrise (Shrike #3) appear to be intended for play in that order. And as a longer & more challenging series, I'd put them after all the other adventures.

Also, the Port on the Bay introduces the idea of apprenticeships, including animal husbandry, so I wouldn't introduce the pet-cards unless the kids opt for such an apprenticeship.

tl;dr: a solid addition to the Hero Kids universe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Bayhaven Ultimate [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Adventures in Bayhaven - Mystery of the Stolen Pendant
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2016 13:28:25

A good mystery-twist rather than a traditional hack-n-slash. Not too hard for younger ones to solve, but not so simple that older kids will figure it out before the adventure is complete. The biggest asset is the blanked-out "clue" pages (in addition to the pre-populated clue pages), allowing the GM to choose the guilty party and tailor the clues accordingly, giving the session much greater replay-value. One of the best in the Bayhaven bundle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Bayhaven - Mystery of the Stolen Pendant
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Two Page Mini Delve - Cave of Crystals
by Mark Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 16:04:01

I was able to weave this delve into the 5E Mine's of Phandelver. I placed the cave deep under the water of Area 16 in Wave Echo Cave. The flumphs were hard to explain, being there deep underwater, but I was able to weave the crystal creature into the explanation.

Now the group is considering flooding the cave, to prevent anyone/thing from using the area again...I am thinking that if they do this, it will crush the crystals and release undead, incorporeal creatures unto the cave. Furthermore, I had Mormesk harvesting the crystals, to use the necromantic energy to fuel the forge and flip its use.

Great stuff to work with. Really enjoyed the art of the map and look forward to how my PC's will figure things out and rid the world of these evil entities. Thanks for the inspiration. Downloading more of your work and will contribute, if able.

Also, I was able to quickly capture the map in 3DVTT on my iPad and import into the campaign immediately.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Cave of Crystals
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Two Page Mini Delve - Dwarven Museum at Moriah
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2016 22:25:10

the best of the two page series so far. They have a good reason to recover things.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Dwarven Museum at Moriah
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Two Page Mini Delve - Deepwood Memorial
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2016 22:09:50

This is a tombrobbing expedition, but at least they are going in to prevent a war and not just hijacking goodies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Deepwood Memorial
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Two Page Mini Delve - Cave of Crystals
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2016 21:56:21

I though that the scenario was a no win as described, since just about every possible outcome was worse than theone before.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Cave of Crystals
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your review. I\'m sorry your players did not enjoy playing this delve. As a DM, I believe it\'s ok to place the PCs in situations where they have to choose between two (or more) non-ideal options - where there\'s no clear \"right choice.\" I know that giving players situations where there\'s a \"right choice to make in order to win\" is the default setting for D&D, I also know it\'s ok to put PCs in situations where they have to struggle a little bit with what they should do, and where there may not be a \"right\" option. This delve is the latter type of scenario. Ultimately, there\'s nothing preventing them from leaving the cave empty handed, with only a new NPC contact or even a flumph follower; in fact, if they were hired by someone to retrieve the crystals, returning empty handed presents some interesting follow up possibilities.
Two Page Mini Delve - Workshop of the Mad Alchemist
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 22:26:17

I havent played this yet, but it seems to be just what it proffers to be: a quick fun diversion from the "daily dungeon grind". I like the short format and totally agree these can bring brevity to your campaign. I got another one, I'll review soon. Maybe put a little more into the maps? IF you're looking for a criticism that's all I would mention as an aside. Keep up the good work; fun isn't it?! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Workshop of the Mad Alchemist
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Two Page Mini Delve - Workshop of the Mad Alchemist
by Timothy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 15:19:09

The content (idea and detail) was nice, but the map left little to be desired...but you cant beat the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Cave of Crystals
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 22:45:01

Just had a session of playing this mini delve -- lots of fun!

The campaign description states that the delve will take 1-2 hours, but our own took about 3 hours. The players seemed to really get invested in the world and got all curious as to why the crystals were cloudy, what the altar was for, what the pit was for, etc. The end part of the campaign (when all the spiders had been taken care of and Kurisha was appeased) ended up being a feud between the player who wanted to sneak the flumphs away and use them to clear the crystals, and the player who had fallen in love with the creatures and wanted no harm done to them! Eventually it was agreed that the party take on the crystals withut flumph aid, and managed to control the situation and get the crystals they came for.

I really underestimated this little dungeon. I thought it'd be a fun little diversion, but the players resonated with it very well. I'll definitely be giving them the other free campaigns soon, as well as picking up any new mini delves on release. Fantastic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Cave of Crystals
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

5 Questions
by Merric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2016 14:09:46

An interesting supplement to spur creativity. Full review on my site: merricb.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5 Questions
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG