Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » Hero Forge Games » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 23:31:58

As one of the players that has been involved in some of the playtesting for this system, I found that it contained some interesting concepts, as well as being adaptable to various settings. (One of the settings I got to experience was Roman Era as accidental time travelers, and the other was a space setting). For the most part, if your group is accustommed to role playing, you won't even notice what system you're using, and depending on your GM as to how much dice rolling you have. I like the point buy process, and the regular advancement of characters through play, though yet again that can be controlled by the GM to allow for slower or faster character development.

One of the bits I find a bit too complex with not a significant gain over possible simpler solutions is the combat and dice pools, where you have the base one, and you have energy points you can spend to bring in more dice, depending on which skill you are using. It limits your ability to use skills all the time, and does so quite well, but it feels more complex than necessary.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Fire in Rivenshore
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 20:17:27

This was a good adventure to work on listening skills - trying to keep a list of tasks and the order she wanted to do them in to help the most people. It also highlighted that we needed to discuss with her about what is ok to keep secrets about vs things that should be discussed with an adult. Amazing what a "simple game" can make parents realize :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Fire in Rivenshore
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 20:15:11

Such a great idea for this age group - my daughter (and wife) very much enjoyed that they could colour & decorate their characters. (I'm sure next session the character token will get coloured to match)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 20:13:24

6.5 year old has very much enjoyed the game - we've played 2 of the adventures so far - one of which we did one evening while on a family vacation - just had printed the adventure beforehand - handful of 6 sided dice and a very compact game to play whereever the desire (or boredom) may strike.

Simple rules, simple math, the adults have had fun, she has had fun. Works on listening skills, critical thinking, some good math practice for the age group, and at least one of the adventures highlighted a discussion we needed to have on what kinds of things are appropriate for "keeping secrets" vs what should be discussed with an adult.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
by Greg B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2018 23:56:30

I like the flexibility of using this system for different role playing genres. Having started roleplaying with my son using other systems that are more fixed in their genre and seeing him create worlds with his friends in commercial games such has Minecraft I am looking forward to introducing him to creating campaigns using this system away from screens.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Hero Cards V
by Jim T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2018 18:26:47

This product as a whole, Hero Kids, is an amazing investment. My 5 year old son and I have played over ten times in the first few weeks of owning it. I love how imaginitive he gets. My D&D group has a few dads and we got together to all play. Each adventure is unique and has many options to increase the replay factor. It's flexible enough that we can go rules lite and really let the story be the focus, or play it straight up and work on his math and counting! And the narration is wonderful, putting the kids as the heroes to do what the grown ups can't! I have recommemded this product and all of its adventures and expansions to all of my friends with kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Hero Cards V
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
by Darren M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2018 16:32:22

to complitcated. The system should be in the background letting the player roleplay the game. With this the system is front and center and in the way. The game is the system.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Chad L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2018 06:56:34

What a great system to introduce RPGs to my 6yo boy! I was an AD&D and GURPS player from waaaay back when, and have been missing the hobby. When my son found my old D&D books and expressed interest, I jumped at the opportunity. I went looking for an age-appropriate system, ultimately landing on Hero Kids.

We had our first extended session this past weekend, and boy howdy did he have fun! He picked up the game mechanics straight away, and I got back into my old GM groove (just like old times!) He immediately gravitated to the Wolfchild character, and we spent several hours just developing his backstory, and my mind is abuzz with some fun ideas for an extended storyline. I'm so jazzed he's taken to the hobby so enthusiastically, and that I'm able to scratch that RPG itch after so long.

Thanks for creating such a great game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
by Mal W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2018 22:33:47

I've been play testing this with my buddies. Took me a while to get used to not rolling a d20 and I had to purchase heaps of d10s but it's been great fun and the system can adapt to anything. The rules are well layed out and full of excellent imagery. Well done Justin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Hero Cards V
by Rachel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2018 22:21:57

This is a beautiful expansion for the practically perfect Hero Kids system. I love playing it with my kids, and they are going to adore the new heros. Beautiful art and interesting special abilities. Highly recommended! We also love the expansion set where they play animal heroes, so I recommend picking up both expansions and letting your little players pick from the lot. Each set includes printable character sheets - a half page size, black and white. We color ours in as part of the character creation process. Also is a page of foldable playing pieces for each character. We color those, too, and usually tape them to a coin to hold them steady. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Hero Cards V
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Hero Cards V
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2018 21:56:43

I've been playing Hero Kids with my Neice and Nephews. They absolutely love it! The art and stories are fantastic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
by Jade R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2018 05:15:29

I love this RPG. The use of only D10's makes it seem simple but that would be unjust. The style itself is cleverly crafted to focus on what is fun so you can get right into the game without having to over think everything. This RPG has clearly been well thought out and whilst you might think "who needs another RPG system?" I can assure you that you need this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forge Engine - Universal Role-Playing System
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Carlos T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2018 19:23:03

My 7 year old son loves this game, and I can't recommend it strongly enough. I've told friends with young kids too.

Is there a forum for exchanging user-written adventures or ideas? My son has blown through almost all the published adventures, and we'll soon need to write our own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
by Jeffrey R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 16:56:36

This has been such an amazing addition to my game night with the kids, especially in the searchable PDF form it is. I am able to bring my laptop to the table, search a monster's stats when I need it and move on. It saves time, gives me all the information I need about the monsters coming up and is great when running some self-generated content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 11:14:49

I DM D&D for my family and friends, but my younger kids and their friends want to play, too, and it is just over their heads. Hero Kids is simplified enough where the kids can grasp the concept, yet versitile enough that they can bring their own flair to the premade characters, or create their own custom characters. The system is well thought out and balanced fairly. I like how the hit points are simplifed and are "knocked out" instead of killed (Though I have some kids with huge imaginations that want the deaths to be cartoon bloody. lol).

I bought the completel package with extra heros, bad guys, and adventures. They're all awesome. I absolutely love that every hero and mob comes with a paper mini, too, that can be colored in for personalization. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 163 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG