Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
by Lance C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2018 00:14:29

One of the best modules you can ever play or run. Replayability is pretty solid and you can tune how you run it based on how the players' creativity work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Lance C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2018 00:12:08

It was pretty easy to follow and easy to read, but it felt like the final battle wasn't as challenging as it should be. Running it in a very strong mode or changing how you challenge your players though could help make a more enjoyable game. RP wise it's really great because the continuation feeling from the TOA book is pretty good.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Lance C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2018 00:04:42

The module was very easy to follow, very flavorful, and tons of opportunity for roleplay. One of the most exciting modules to dm because it came out during the holiday season and the theme of it was perfect for the season! Would love to run it again next holiday season, but I would also like to see more hemed modules/ holiday season modules come out in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Sharon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 16:01:37

I've run about 30 hours of these adventures at three different cons.

MAJOR PROBLEM: There seems to be broad consensus that these take well over an hour to run and I had several players frustrated by the low amount of xp available after they'd spent nearly two hours playing the game. This is a real problem at conventions when time is precious and good players feel cheated on xp.

Pros:

  • Port Nyanzaru is an engaging setting; fun to play with the climate and the dinos
  • Several of the NPCs were quite good, my players cared about the missing people in Malar's Throat and liked the twist with the final adventure
  • Several players really liked the dino race becuase it gave them a fun way to interact with the dinos and not simply kill them as monsters

Cons:

  • It was a little difficult to get players hooked into the adventures
  • I printed my own map of the city; the mod really, really should have had a map
  • Soggy Wren was fun, but none of my players trusted him--which made resolving the adventure difficult


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:56:29

Give people options and they'll choose to complain. I liked this module because it gave players the option to use previously created characters in a new storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:54:36

This is a pretty straight forward module, but it was enjoyable. I see some people complaining about the end fight, but my group thought it was fairly compelling. Maybe it was because I gave my NPC's a surprise round (which made sense to me since they knew the adventurers were coming) which made a huge difference. I also liked the variety of skills and monsters used within the module; it was nice to have things that weren't the norm.

My only complaint is that they shoved a lot of the faction Secret Missions into this module for some reason, but that could be just my own perspective.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:50:53

I really enjoyed this quite a bit. I will say that the beginning is quite fun and imaginitive. My players loved the options and the unique middle section. The end boss is good, but I wish I had made it harder to see if it made a difference with my table; however we were short on time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Gaetan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:05:46

I first played this as a PC and it is enjoyable. There's a fun puzzle, some "in the jungle" elements and some challenging combats. The Story Award is going to have a lasting impact on the full ToA campaign that I am running.

However, as a DM, I really didn't like the way this module was organized or explained. The "betrayal" at the end is not very well set up in either this module or the predecessor.

It does have some of Travis's nice maps and a few handouts. It also has two different faction hooks, which is nice.

General issues:

  • Continuity problems with Wadumu, he changed colors between adventures.
  • There are riddles, but no associated player handouts.
  • The whole process / mechanism for solving the puzzle really needs some pictures of some type of "overview". Understanding the trap requires a bunch of back and forth reading across the page.
  • The puzzle also has some timing requirements that are basically explained on the page following the puzzle.
  • It's not clear if there's a "short rest" opportunity between part 1 and part 2.
  • Part 3 is really confusing. Again, could really benefit from a drawing of the specific challenge faced by the PCs. It doesn't seem to have any XP associated.

Inconsistent details. Here's a simple one:

Once the characters activate the panels in the correct order, the flagstones surrounding the obelisk lower into the ground in the fashion of a staircase winding around a central column.*

This would make it seem like the "flagstones" are significant, but they're not actually in the original description at all.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:28:30

I loved it, party hated it. To be fair though my party died on that mountain trying to prove a point to Hartkiller. They went against the Beast of Talos way underleveled and thought after fighting normal monsters they could take this souped up one. Needless to say they failed. Had them 'finish' the rest of the module regardless and they did 'enjoy' the ending.

Beast of Talos had to be my favorite part and showing that creature to fellow DM's made them want to attempt the same module. Need more terrible monsters like it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:20:27

Has a lot of smaller missions that work well in getting the party used to their characters. A little hard for newcomers considering the either large amount of enemies, or the higher CR of them (SPOILERS: Black Pudding anyone???) I like the tradition of getting the party advanced in levels before the 'main' campaign begins.

LOVE the fact that every goblin NPC is named. My party enjoys giving them backstories if they live, often inviting them into the party (with high Charisma checks of course).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Tortle Package (5e)
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:16:37

Great addition to the racial stats. Hppy that it counts as part of Xanathar's Guide for AL games. The island itself is just average and the one adventure is lacking slightly. The race itself is quirky and seems like a lot of players love creating and playing them. Also a benefit that the money went (goes to?) charity.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:12:50

Was a fairly solid Tier 1 adventure. Not to hard not to easy. Can't go wrong fighting goblins and kobolds and the rewards are solid. Also enjoy the fact that it leads into Forge of Fury as a sort of alternate intro scene. Gives the players a chance to level up before entering Forge.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:08:21

The adventure it self was both good and bad. Entertaining prequel to White Plume Mountain with a nice leadup and a hint of what was to come. That being said the traps themselves were needed some work. One group spent three hours on the coin puzzle, just for half of them to die to the wyverns (which were awesome btw). Needed slightly better clues.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 22:33:26

This was a fantastic diversion! I ran it over the holidays for my nephew and his friends, all just-barely-teenagers who are all very new to D&D (and RPG's in general). The had just hit second level, and so far had done mostly combat (cleared out a Goblin den). This adventure was perfect for teaching them that not everything is about combat. They had a blast playing the carnival games, and once the "commotion" started, they immediately went into combat mode, only to realize after a couple rounds that something wasn't right - they weren't being targeted or hit! It was great watching them realize that perhaps all was not as it seemed to be at first, and switch to role playing to finish out the adventure.

The locations were well described and flavorful, the NPCs well thought out and multi-dimensional, and the reason for what happens was a fun little twist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Dragons of Autumn (3.5)
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 21:09:43

A fantastic example of what a fantasy adventure module should look like. A great stand-alone 3.5E Dragonlance module, or a detailed and flavourful expansion of the content of the original DL module series for 1E or 2E.

I bought this as a companion to a 2E Dragonlance War of the Lance campaign and am deeply impressed by the content. The flow and key encounters of the original modules are retained, but fringe areas are expanded, providing new paths linking the key milestones and minimising the "railroad" effect of some sections. Areas that are suggested as important in the original modules are expanded.

For example, there is better support for players to reach Xak Tsaroth by ship, or to visit Haven, or to take a path out of Solace that passes through Darken Wood. Random encounter tables are largely replaced by detailed, relevant events. Where random encounters remain, they're much better suited to the areas they occur in - the Xak Tsaroth table, for example, is now suitably swampy. A timeline of world-level events allows you to let players feel time pressure if they're dawdling, but can be ignored if it's unhelpful. Scales on the original DL1 maps are fixed to provide more believable travel times, with specific examples given of journey length between key locations. NPCs mentioned in passing in the original modules now have names, and in many instances can be recruited. The politics of powers in the region, such as Haven, are better explained, giving the DM more freedom to deal with "what if" scenarios and therefore giving players more agency.

There's better DM guidance as to which encounters are expected to be trivial, meaningful, or nigh-unbeatable. Introductions to key areas of the campaign remind you of 3.5E rule systems that may be relevant and direct you to where in the core books to find them. There's explicit effort to let player-created characters replace and take the role of key NPCs like Goldmoon rather than just let you be their sidekicks. Ideas that don't sit well with later canon are removed - gone, for example, are the generic baby black dragons in the Xak Tsaroth swamps.

I could go on, but the theme is clear - this is a loving, exceptionally detailed, and well-designed reworking of the DL modules, with an eye to keeping all their original quirks and diversions but benefiting from the decades of worldbuilding and game design that have occurred since. Absolutely a must for anyone running a War of the Lance campaign, in any edition.

Minor issues: Monsters are not statted; you will need the 3.5E Monster Manual and 3.5 Dragonlance core books to use them. Illustrations throughout the PDF are exceptionally low resolution, almost to the point of illegibility. Higher resolution maps have been added to the end of the PDF, which is welcome, but there's no such treatment of the art. As far as the illustrations go, few are new, being mostly re-uses of existing Dragonlance artwork. Finally, despite many welcome improvements, PC motivation to take part in the early parts of the quest is mostly limited to "the gods told you to", and those not on board with Christian theology may find the religious elements, and the general themes of faith, awkwardly preachy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragons of Autumn (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3944 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG