Beautiful Brains
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Beautiful Brains Books & Games



Home » White Wolf » Reviews
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rose City by Night
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 10:00:08

Extremely impressive, not least because of expanded rules involving Feeding as well as an intricate background for the entire city. The author cleverly left room to fit in NPCs as well as of course Player Characters, while carefully not insisting on exact numbers of Cainites in Portland. That seems left up to Storytellers. Likewise she created a set of situations where Player Characters might fit right in, pretty much regardless of Clan or allegiance. Especially nice is the sense of place, of a city that "feels older than it is" with lots of wiggle room to expand on the backstory we know.

I do think the original artwork she used works better overall than that from the Art Packs offered, while for my taste I wish more attention were included to how the different NPCs interact (on the other hand the "ongoing prelude" throughout gave a very nice hint of such).

Given its sheer size, I cannot but think the author has underpriced her product! Especially since this book really functions as two--one which gives the background of Portland in the World of Darkness but also as an exploration of something that remains integral to vampires yet also under-explored in the game (at least in my experience).

Bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rose City by Night
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Rose City by Night
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 05:54:11

An excellent new setting for the World of Darkness.

Portland, with its scarcity of resources and political distance from other settings, acts as a terrifying new frontier for those looking for a challenge. The sample adventure, "As the Blood Flows" acts as a great launching point into the cities politics, characters, and unique dangers.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rose City by Night
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 23:52:41

The 2 new skills and the ritual that are included are a delightful addition as well as the entire campaign book, at over 100 (107 total) pages its quite the bargain for content and its very well written. The material flows easily and is fun to read. As this is a 3rd/Revised title its not very hard to convert either to 20th Edition or even previous versions if your setting uses those systems instead. I give this book my full reccomendation!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Karnstein
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 16:18:08

The history and the love put into the book truly shows throughout every aspect of the book. I found everything about the Karnstein clan to be something that I would allow for my players to create in a campaign.

This clan can work so well as a pc or npc that you'll find a decent amount of storylines and plots to ensare them into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Karnstein
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ioroque
by gabriel t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 13:16:54

It very well developed, with a interesting setting and new views on some aspects of the base books



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ioroque
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Hunter's Armory I
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2017 13:07:30

I think this might become a must have series. The only problem I can think of is I think the author would get better use out of using dots (either reflecting Resources/Contacts to obtain) instead of MSRP. It is a nitpick, and one that is easy to overlook. I learned a few things about guns, and I have effectively owned two versions of this book for different systems. The author strove for updated information and accuracy, and it really shows.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter's Armory I
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Combination Discipline Compilation
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2017 23:10:54

Are you looking to challenge more experienced players? The powers in this illustrate the flexibility of the Storyteller system, and should spark many great ideas for Vampire elders. Some are going to question the price, but there is a lot of material here. This book is pretty well laid out, the powers listed alphabetically. I'm looking forward to more titles from the author.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Combination Discipline Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

101 Plot Ideas
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2017 15:15:44

These are some really great ideas for Storytellers. The only nitpick was the lack of any sort of organization of the ideas, it's a minor concern as there is fodder here for years of gaming. And again, the price makes it worth it several times over.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Plot Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Madison by Night
by Scott J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2017 19:43:52

I'm not sure when I first read that Madison was a rare anarch stronghold in the mid-west (Chicago by Night?) but I always remembered it for that and it's great to finally see a book for it. The author does a lot with the 16 pages - a brief history, map and geography, locations and important characters along with some adventure seeds at the end. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madison by Night
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Vampire Drawings
by Emmanuelle N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2017 14:27:24

Honestly the best VTM fanartist out there, I cannot recommend Sei-ey's work enough. These 12 drawings are, indeed, very "telling" of the clans portrayed, and while a couple of elements are stereotypical, they're not gross caricatures (despite the presence of katanas :p) They're great full page spreads for any 4th edition work. They're all female kindred. I'd love to have a PNG/JPG version of the artbook so I could use the art in future works (easier to manipulate than a pdf). Great art, great technique, very WoD. Would buy again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Drawings
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Mage The Awakening Tarot
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 19:18:17

The printing and art is beautiful, but the card stock is just a little bit too thin.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage The Awakening Tarot
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

VtM- City Worksheet for Camarilla [3rd Edition]
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 21:21:28

At its most basic, this is a simple worksheet to work out the details for a City By Night supplement. Okay, well done. It makes for a simple handout of a very few pages, essentially asking the basics of a city including Theme and Mood, Who is the Prince, Where are the Hospitals, What are the Nice (and other types of) Neighborhoods, etc. It is rather like a form to fill out, albeit with not enough room to fill in the answers I would put down. Looks as if the author intended for people to simply imput lists. In very tiny handwriting. That in effect is my only real criticism--please leave room for more complete answers to the questions asked.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
VtM- City Worksheet for Camarilla [3rd Edition]
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Ghost Stalkers!
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2017 13:47:20

His best work yet. This little story really helps bring life to his previous books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Stalkers!
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Secrets' photo pack: churches
by Alexander M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2017 10:33:26

Cool pictures for backgrounds, the architecture is all pointy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets' photo pack: churches
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Monastery of Metamorphosis: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 09:19:07

Very interesting! And potentially a really interesting flashpoint in the region, amidst different factions and groups, but also on a very personal level for both PCs and NPCs. I'm not familiar with the "Path of Metamorphisis" but then I've also not delved that far into the Sabbat.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monastery of Metamorphosis: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Beautiful Brains Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1764 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG